Free Falling

We all make decisions that have consequences.

Sometimes we don’t like the end result, sometimes we’re satisfied, and sometimes we’re deeply confused or overjoyed.

No matter what.

There is ALWAYS a consequences behind an action.

For ever action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

Today I’m coming from the deep unknown.

I firmly believe that God, the Universe, whatever you believe in – pushed me off a cliff.

This isn’t meant to be something to harm or hurt me.

I recognize that I was pushed because I have been standing on the edge for so long and too scared to jump. So, voila – pushed.

After 2 wonderful years at my veterinary hospital, we have decided to part ways. The overwhelming support I have received from my tech team and the veterinarians warms my heart and soul.

The lives I have touched and impacted.

These hands. These hands of mine that have scars to show the blood, sweat, and tears required to be a tech in the veterinary industry. The love, compassion, and healing they have been apart of.

It’s time to move on.

Under any other circumstances I’d probably be stressed beyond belief.

I have subconsciously (or maybe consciously?) been preparing for this moment over the last several months.

I am booked out with my pet home healthcare business until November.

My contract is still active as a Pet Nutrition Consultant.

I have saved more money than I ever thought possibly for what I was being paid.

I have prepared for this moment.

Now, just because I’m prepared, doesn’t mean I’m not scared.

Things are different this time.

I am scared, but I am comforted.

I had the privilege to spend 2 hours in the home of a client while she struggled with the decision to give the gift to end her dogs pain and suffering.

This woman is a grief and loss therapist.

But nothing prepares you for YOUR loss.

She inspired me to look at things differently.

Even when you think everything is okay, but you know it’s not going to get better, you must make a choice.

My wonderful friend and former co-worker shared this beautiful metaphor.

You’re traveling down a dead-end road.

You can’t see the end. You don’t know when it will come.

The path may be paved with speed bumps, pot holes, hills and valleys.

Twists and turns.

You know the end is coming, but you have no idea how long it will take you to get there.

But it’s coming.

Some people must travel down the entire road.

Some must see and experience all the speed bumps, pot holes, hills and valleys, the twists and turns.

Some know the end is coming. The result is that they are on a path to nowhere.

You get the choice to either travel the road knowing it ends, or realizing it ends and stop while you still can.

She shared this metaphor with our dear friend who was saying goodbye to her companion. To explain that no matter what, it’s not going to get better. It’s going to progressively get worse and you don’t know when the end is coming, but it’s coming.

What a beautiful way to ease me into this transitional period of my life. My friend had no idea what was to come when we returned to our clinic, or that her words would impact me in such a profound way. A way that would ease the pain and remind me that this career has been as challenging as it has been rewarding. That sometimes we are traveling down a dead-end road but don’t know when to stop or when to give up.

Now it’s time to take care of myself.

To trust I’m being guided and to be grateful for the relationships I have made throughout my journey and will continue to make.

Here’s to the future.

Here’s to bigger, better, and the great unknown.

Until next time,

xo-Jack

One thought on “Free Falling

Leave a Reply

